Important Documents Needed to Get Your Texas Learner License or Permit

Posted by on Sunday, March 31st, 2019 in Driving Laws, Driving Tips, Parent-Taught Driver Education

So it’s time to get your Texas Learner License or permit! Before you go – let’s get you organized so your trip to the Texas DPS is as short and successful as possible. The last thing you want to do is wait in a long line at a Texas DPS Driver License Office, hoping you qualify and have brought the right forms. You don’t want to get there and realize you forgot something, and have to come back again.


First of all, you need to be at least 15 years old to apply for a Texas Learner License.  Second, you need to have completed the first six hours of an approved Texas Teen Driver Education course, like Online Driving Professor’s Texas Parent Taught Teen Driver Education, and received your Texas Driver Education Completion Certificate (DE-964) for completing the first 6 hours. Third, you need to have passed The Official State of Texas Driving Knowledge Exam, either at the Texas DPS when you apply, or through your Texas high school, a driving school, or an online driver education course, like Online Driving Professor’s Texas Parent Taught Teen Driver Education.


The checklist below will help you get organized so you make only one trip to get your Texas Learner License. Teens must bring the following documents:


  • Driver Education Completion Certificate (DE-964):  This certificate is sent to you by your driver education provider via email or regular mail after you successfully complete the first six (6) hours of driver education.
  • Your Parent or Legal Guardian:  Your parent or guardian mus be with you when you apply for your Texas Learner License. If you’re taking a Texas Parent Taught Driver Education (PTDE) course, the person who officially registered with TDLR and designated themselves as your Texas parent taught driver education (PTDE) instructor must be present when you apply for your Texas Learner License.
  • Proof of Texas Residency:  Your parent must bring two different forms of proof that they reside in Texas.  Acceptable forms include an automobile insurance card, a mortgage statement, an unexpired Texas voter registration card, and paid utility bills.
  • The Texas Residency Affidavit (DL-5):  This form is only required if your parent can’t provide two different forms to prove their Texas residency.
  • Proof of Identity and Lawful U.S. Citizenship or Presence: You can bring your valid U.S. passport, birth certificate, or U.S. certificate of citizenship or naturalization.
  • Verification of Enrollment (VOE): This form is obtained from your Texas high school and signed by a school administrator. This form proves that you are currently enrolled in school.
  • Texas Registration and Proof of Insurance:  Proof of liability insurance and Texas registration is required for all vehicles registered in your name. If you do not own a vehicle, you will sign a statement affirming this.
  • Completed Texas Learner License Application (DL-14A):  The application is found online here, or at your local Texas driver license office location.
  • Pass the Official Texas Driving Knowledge Exam:  If you have not taken this test during the classroom portion of driver education to receive your driver education completion certificate (DE-964), you will take it at the Texas DPS Driver License Office.
  • PTDE Program Guide Receipt:  DPS will ask for proof of purchase/receipt for the purchase of the PTDE Program Guide if you are enrolled in a Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Course. A receipt was emailed to your parent when they purchased the TDLR Parent Taught Program Guide.
  • $16 Texas Learner License Fee:  The fee is payable by cash, credit, check, or money.



 Get In Line Before You Go to a Texas DPS Driver License Office!


The Texas DPS has many driver license office locations. However, the Mega Centers are the premiere locations. If a Mega Center location is nearby, we encourage you to visit this location to apply for your Texas Learner License. If one is not available in your area, any Texas DPS office can assist you. Texas DPS Mega Centers:


  • Allow you to get in line online before you arrive at the office
  • Have a larger number of support staff and service windows.


Temporary Texas Learner License


Once your Texas Learner License has been issued, you will receive a temporary receipt. Review your temporary receipt for accuracy before you leave the Texas DPS Driver License Office. If any information is incorrect, notify the customer service representative to get it corrected. Keep your receipt in a secure place and with you at all times when driving. Your new Texas Learner License will arrive in the mail in approximately 2 – 3 weeks!